About Us

The Department of Psychology at the Univesity of Malta was officially set up within the Faculty of Arts in October 1988. It first offered a three year B.A. (Gen.) degree with Psychology as a main area followed by a four year Honours degree in Psychology. In 1992, the Department of Psychology was moved from the Faculty of Arts to the Faculty of Education, and it started offering the present B.Psy. (Hons). It continued offering the B.A. (General) in Psychology as well. The Department also offered the Programme for Inclusive Education which offers a Diploma in Inclusive Education on a regular basis. In 2003 a Master’s degree in Psychology (M.Psy.) was started, offering three different streams: Clinical Psychology, Counselling Psychology and Educational Psychology. In 2009, a part-time B.A. course was offered one time only by the Department at the Gozo Campus, while in 2011 it started a one year full-time Higher Diploma in Psychology. The Department was instrumental in the introduction of Intermediate Psychology at post secondary education in Malta in 2012. In 2012 the Department became part of the newly established Faculty for Social Wellbeing. The present Head is Dr Greta Darmanin Kissaun.


The programmes offered by the Department at both undergraduate and post graduate level reflect related and interdisciplinary fields. These include:

  • Bachelor in Psychology (Honours)
  • Degrees with Psychology as an Area of Study (offered in collaboration with other Faculties)
  • Higher Diploma in Psychology
  • Masters in Psychology


Share This: